Area Taxes

Taxes- In general, takes are broken down into two brackets. Second homes and investment property are taxed at 6% and primary residents are taxed at 4%. To be eligible for the 4% rate you must qualify and be approved for the 4% Legal Residence exemption. Primary residents also receive some additional tax credits that further reduce your tax bill such as the property tax relief credit, which discounts the school operating tax from your tax bill. Additionally, if you are over 65 years of age, or certified totally and permanently disabled or blind, you may qualify for the Homestead Exemption. Up to the first $50,000 of your home’s appraised value could be totally exempt from taxes.

Charleston County Tax Estimator

Visit the Charleston County Tax Estimator

Berkeley County Tax Estimator

Visit the Berkeley County Tax Estimator

Dorchester County Tax Information

Visit the Dorchester County Tax Assessor

Want to know more about Charleston area Real Estate Taxes?

Contact Us